Power System in China
POWER SYSTEM OPTIMISATION IN CHINA
THE PATH TOWARDS A HIGH RENEWABLE ENERGY FUTURE IN JIANGSU, CHINA
Engines and generating sets hero image
OPINION EDITORIAL
The National Development and Reform Commission and the Joint Energy Bureau encourage investment in flexible assets to prepare for energy transition and large scale renewables integration.

China’s power system: transitioning towards renewables and essential flexibility

The global energy landscape is in transition towards more flexible and sustainable energy systems. Climate policies, energy security, and economics are all driving rapid progress towards a more sustainable global energy system. In China, there is a growing trend to replace coal-fired power plants with renewable energy sources (RES) and power plants running on natural gas. As the largest energy producer and consumer in the world, China is well placed to drive the energy transition.

Jiangsu is one of China’s leading provinces in terms of economic development. Currently, Jiangsu’s power system is facing various challenges: the development of coal-fired power is restricted, and there is an insufficient supply of electricity to meet the growing energy demand. In order to meet this demand, Jiangsu will mainly focus on developing the following power sources: gas power, energy storage, pumped hydro storage, and variable RES. As the share of RES will continue to increase, Jiangsu’s power system will face new challenges in maintaining system reliability, resilience, and stability. Without adequate and detailed planning, the overall cost of generation will increase, despite the addition of lower cost RES.

China’s power system: transitioning towards renewables and essential flexibility

Study shows RES integration potential using Internal Combustion Engines (ICE)

Study shows RES integration potential using Internal Combustion Engines (ICE)

Wärtsilä and the China Energy Power Planning & Engineering Institute (EPPEI) jointly launched a study titled “Enhancing Power System Flexibility: Finnish Experience and Application in Jiangsu”. The study showcases how China can accelerate the energy transition by integrating more renewables and improving power system flexibility. The study considers three scenarios – baseline, moderate RES and high RES – and shows how the optimal path to more renewables can help lower system costs, while maintaining system reliability. To achieve this, flexible capacity, notably gas-based internal combustion engine (ICE) power plants, is needed to integrate RES and provide peaking and frequency regulation services.

The efficient and flexible ICE power plants allow the system to quickly meet the need for short-term rapid response when integrating RES, without risking the power system reliability and stability. An ICE can reach 100% capacity within just 2 minutes, quickly ramp up and shut down, and can be restarted without any operational penalties and with minimal downtime. This capability saves fuel, wear-and-tear, as well as emissions, since it is not necessary to run the engines idle. ICE power plants are different from conventional thermal power plants, such as steam & gas turbines. These ICE power plants provide ultimate flexibility with high efficiency even at low loads, and can operate on natural gas, liquid or biofuels. These plants can operate on baseload, provide peaking power, and also provide grid stability services.
Renewables and flexible ICE power plants will provide economic, environmental, and operational benefits for Jiangsu’s power system
Wang Shunchao, Director of International cooperation Division, EPPEI

The study recommends adding ICE to increase grid stability, decrease costs, and reduce CO2 emissions

According to the study, increasing the amounts of RES and adding flexible ICE power plants to Jiangsu’s power system will provide both economic, environmental, and operational benefits. RES combined with flexible ICE power plants will enable increased grid stability and reliability, while lowering the overall power system costs. Integrating cheap RES into the power system will also enable less gas usage, and will decrease dependence on imported gas (liquefied natural gas). It will also lower CO2 emissions and reduce water consumption compared to gas turbines.

Looking at the results of the study, the high RES scenario clearly shows big potential for further renewable integration in China. Compared with the baseline and moderate RES scenarios, the high RES scenario would be the most optimal scenario, achieving the highest savings, a lower levelised cost of electricity (LCOE), and much lower emission levels, which is important from a sustainability perspective and for China to reach President Xi’s target of carbon neutrality by 2060.

The study recommends adding ICE to increase grid stability, decrease costs, and reduce CO2 emissions
The efficient and flexible ICE power plants allow the system to quickly meet the need for short-term rapid response when integrating renewables, without risking the power system’s reliability and stability
Rhonin Zhou, Market Development Manager, Wärtsilä Energy

Downloads

The path towards a future of high renewable energy in Jiangsu, China

Enhancing Power System Flexibility: Finnish Experience and Application in Jiangsu

Wärtsilä Flexiblock power plants

Pictures from Finland-China (Jiangsu) Smart Energy Seminar – 13 November 2020

Video

Contact us

Please fill in the form, we aim to respond within 1-2 business days depending on the enquiry. For an existing installation, provide all necessary details to identify the installation and the equipment. Fields indicated with an asterisk (*) are required. 

Find your local Wärtsilä office here

© 2021 Wärtsilä

中国电力系统优化

中国江苏迈向高比例可再生能源的未来之路

中国电力系统: 向可再生能源和能源系统灵活性转型

全球能源格局正在向更加灵活和可持续的能源系统转型。气候政策、能源安全和经济现状都是全球能源系统朝着更可持续的方向快速发展的推动因素。在中国,用可再生能源和天然气发电厂取代燃煤发电厂的趋势越来越明显。作为世界上最大的能源生产国和消费国,中国推动能源转型势在必行。

江苏是中国经济最发达的省份之一。目前,江苏的电力系统正面临着各种挑战:新建燃煤发电厂受到限制,而现有的电力供应能力难以满足日益增长的能源需求。为满足经济和社会发展对于能源的需求,江苏将重点发展以下能源类别:燃气发电、储能、抽水蓄能和可再生能源。随着可再生能源在总能源消费占比不断提高,江苏电力系统在保持可靠性、灵活性和稳定性方面将面临新的挑战。即便是增加了更低成本的可再生能源,若无充分、详尽的总体规划,那么发电的总成本依然还会增加。

中国电力系统:向可再生能源和能源系统灵活性转型

研究报告表明:利用燃气内燃机将发挥可再生能源领域并网巨大潜力

研究报告表明:利用燃气内燃机将发挥可再生能源领域并网巨大潜力

瓦锡兰公司和中国电力规划设计总院(EPPEI)共同发布了“电力系统灵活性的提升:谈芬兰的实践经验在江苏的应用”的研究报告,讨论了中国如何通过并入更多可再生能源和提高电力系统的灵活性来加快能源转型。研究报告列举了三种情况:基准、中等和高比例可再生能源,并展示了如何通过最佳途径实现更多的可再生能源利用,以帮助降低系统成本,同时保证系统的可靠性。为实现这一目标,电力系统须具备灵活的产能,例如燃气内燃机发电厂须并入可再生能源并提供电网调峰和调频服务。

高效的灵活内燃机发电厂可以使系统在使用再生能源时快速达到供电条件需求,而不会危及电力系统的可靠性和稳定性。内燃机可以在2分钟内发挥100%的性能,实现快速启动、关闭,且重启过程无任何运行损耗,停机时间也最短。由于内燃机无需怠速运转,也就可以节省燃料、减小磨损和降低排放。内燃机发电厂不同于传统火力发电厂的蒸汽和燃气轮机。即使在低负荷下也能提供极高的灵活性和效率,并能以天然气、液体或生物燃料运行。此类电厂能在基础负荷下运行,提供峰值功率,还能提高电网稳定性。
可再生能源与灵活内燃机发电厂相结合将为江苏的电力系统带来经济、环境和运营上的效益
王顺超,国际部副处长,中国电力规划设计总院

研究报告建议增加内燃机使用以提高电网稳定性、降低成本和减少二氧化碳排放

根据研究报告,增加江苏电力系统中可再生能源和灵活内燃机发电厂的数量,将会拥有较高的经济、环境和运营效益。可再生能源与灵活内燃机发电厂相结合,提高了电网的稳定性和可靠性,并降低整个电力系统的成本。将廉价的可再生能源并入电力系统中也可减少天然气的使用量,并降低对进口天然气(液化天然气)的依赖。与燃气轮机相比,内燃机发电厂还可降低二氧化碳排放量,减少用水量。

从研究报告来看,高比例可再生能源方案清晰地展示了中国可再生能源并网的巨大潜力。与基准和中等可再生能源使用情景相比,高比例可再生能源使用情景将是最理想的情况,在此情境下可实现最大化的节能、较低的平均化发电成本(LCOE)和大幅降低的排放。高比例可再生能源使用情景对可持续发展战略以及中国在2060年实现习近平主席 “碳中和” 目标具有重要意义。

研究报告建议增加内燃机使用以提高电网稳定性、降低成本和减少二氧化碳排放
高效的灵活内燃机发电厂可以使系统并入更多可再生能源以满足供电需求,同时不会危及电力系统的可靠性和稳定性
周秦声,瓦锡兰中国有限公司市场发展经理

下载

中国江苏正迈向高可再生 能源的未来

中国江苏正迈向高可再生 能源的未来


电力系统灵活性的提升:谈芬兰的实践经验在江苏的应用

电力系统灵活性的提升:谈芬兰的实践经验在江苏的应用

灵活性发电厂

图片来自中芬(江苏)智慧能源论坛−2020年11月13日

视频

联系我们

请填写以下表格,我们将根据查询问题,于1-2个工作日内回复。对已安装设备,提供必要的细节来识别安装和设备。带星号*的字段是必填内容

在这里你可以找到瓦锡兰在当地的办公室

© 2021 Wärtsilä